Basic Information
Name: Scotch
Age: 2-3 years old
Breed: Lab Mix
Weight: 65 lbs
Spay/Neuter: Yes

Dogs: Yes, with proper introductions
Cats:  Unknown
Kids: Unknown, probably best with kids 12+ years old
Crate Trained: No
House Trained: Yes
Any Aggression (food or other): Supposedly doesn’t like to share treats or toys
Any other issues: Can be protective and fear reactive.

About Me: 
“Howdy, I’m a Texas boy looking for a special someone to spend my new life with on the west coast!

I love going for walks and hikes but I also love to rest on the couch with my head in your lap. Really I just want to be around you as much as possible! Wherever you’re going I’ll be right by your side.

Don’t let my white beard fool you, I’m a young dog and love to get outside and gallop around. When I want to go outside I do a little tap dance by the door to let you know. I’m not the most graceful runner but I do love trotting next to you.

I know lots of sweet tricks: sit, stay, down, come, and I just learned paw. I also know “leave it” but I’m selective about when I obey that one.

I take myself very seriously outside but inside the house I’m a big goofball and will keep you laughing. I’m getting way better at relaxing and taking time to smell the flowers when I’m outside and am on my way to being able to play outside like I do at home.

After I settle in I like to guard my home and will bark if I hear strange voices outside. I also protect my people and will get jealous if another dog comes up to you. I’m happy to share my food and toys with people but I do not like to share with other dogs. (Please feel free to ask rescue about more information)

I’m not a big fan of other dogs but after a proper introduction I’ll tolerate them being around and walking with them. I’ve had some good introductions to dogs my size off leash as long as they respect my bubble and don’t get too close to my person. (Please feel free to ask rescue about more information)

I can get anxious when meeting new people and may bark at first but I calm down after a few seconds (or right away if they have food) and then we’re best friends. After I know they’re alright I warm up to people right away and will shower them with licks and snuggles.
I’m working really hard on my fear reactivity on leash and need someone to keep working on it with me because I really do love people!

I’m getting used to the sounds of the city but walking next to traffic is still scary so I’d prefer somewhere less hectic for my walks. I don’t care for loud noises so if we could avoid garbage trucks and leaf blowers that would be great.

On my walks I’ve seen bunnies, birds, and deer and I really couldn’t care less about them; no prey drive here! I love to sniff and will eat tasty food bits off the ground if given a chance but if you tell me to leave it I won’t argue. I’ve never met a cat so I can’t tell you how I feel about them.

I’m VERY gentle with my toys and like to take dainty nibbles rather than shake them around. I love playing with toys with my person but I’m mainly motivated by treats and praise. My favourite games are tug of war and fetch (still haven’t mastered fetch outside but inside I’m an all-star). I love to sniff around and I think I’d be great at scent work with some help.

I’ve had lots of new experiences here in BC and love hiking/sniffing in the forest, walking on the beach, and camping with humans. Before we go camping though I just want to let you know I’m very afraid of camp fires so please deliver the roasted hot dogs to my tent far away from the fire.

Baths make me sad but I take them like a champ and won’t fight you. I love to be pampered and brushing time and being dried off with a towel are two of my favourite things. My foster mom brushes me every day and I help out by rolling over and rotating so she doesn’t miss a spot.

Not to brag, but I’m pretty great in the house. I have a perfect track record of zero accidents since I’m so well housebroken and the only thing I chew is my toys. In the kitchen I like to stick close by and sniff at the counter but I never jump up to steal snacks from the counter. I’m gentle with furniture and would love a home that’ll let me sit on the couch with my family because that’s my favourite place to be. Because I love to keep my person close by I get a bit sad when left alone. I whine a little when you leave and sit by the door waiting for you. We’re slowly building up the time I’m left alone and I’ve started getting much more comfortable being alone and will now go take a nap on the couch when alone. I’m not crate trained but I make up for it by being very respectful when left free range. I’m never destructive, I don’t have accidents, I don’t get into things, and I just want to stay put in my bed or on the couch.

I LOVE car rides and am an absolute gentleman as a passenger. I love car rides so much that I’ll try to jump into any open vehicles I come across; it’s a great way to make friends.

If you have room in your home and your heart for a big old love bug I’m your man! I can’t wait to meet you.”

If interested in Scotch please fill out an application under our foster to adopt tab.

Help Us Spread the Word